Journey into unprocessed living · life by design · parental daily ramblings

Baby led weaning style

Great article shared in today’s paper 😊

  
… and brings back memories of my baby led weaning days!

What seems like a lifetime ago (only 4ish yrs) since I introduced my last to solid food,  I remember the advice I had gathered how this  approach to weaning fostered a healthy independent relationship with food for a child, and encouraged the strengthening in mouth muscles for speech later … and I’ll admit the added perk 

It just seemed so convenient!!!!

On my first born, I spoon fed, and I loved  puréeing the foods and attentitively spooning rice mix, whilst filming every expression 😊

… Who has the time for the ones that follow after?! 

So I was excitable when I heard about and observed from new mums that had discovered the baby led weaning way,

I continued to have a fabulous experience observing my next two kids, as they sucked the life out of a stick of raw cucumber … and fingered there way around every morstle of food, deciding what to eat and what to leave, and I watched them thrive every step of the way 😋

 

sam i am … tucking into a corn on the cob
 
Of course, eventually utensils were introduced, and that’s when it got messy, and yes sometimes frustrating ..

I do believe the independent nature, (offering weaning baby pieces of whole food) helped them form their tastes, and develop their independence.

I would encourage anyone thinking of embarking down this path with baby to check out baby led weaning groups on social media, where there is lots of parents at different stages of their baby led weaning journey ( I don’t think they existed a couple of years ago)

Thanks for reading!

Check out my present journey of healthy lunch  box challenge! Times move on!

  
Christine x family wholefood health

Leave a Reply

